Farmers Insurance Open Swings into La Jolla Jan 28

farmers insurance open 2016One of the most important weeks of the year for golf fans is happening this month – from January 28 – 31, the Torrey Pines Golf Course will again host the Farmers Insurance Open, San Diego’s prestigious leg of the PGA Tour. Last year’s champion, Jason Day, will return to defend his title, along with several other PGA Tour competitors. 

Affectionately known as the “West Coast Swing,” the golf tournament originated as the San Diego Open in Chula Vista in 1952. The location of the tournament changed several times through 1985 – from Chula Vista to Rancho Santa Fe, El Cajon, and Mission Valley before settling at Torrey Pines in 1968. The event is now organized annually by The Century Club of San Diego, a nonprofit organization in San Diego that ensures all proceeds  from the tournament go to a good cause; in 2015, the Club generated $3.1 million for local San Diego charities.

SEE ALSO: 10 More Ways to Kick Off January in San Diego

Though the list of registered golfers is not final until January 22, some early notable entrants include Jason Day (2015 champion), Keegan Bradley, Dustin Johnson, Nick Watney, Bubba Watson, three-time champion Phil Mickelson, and local favorite Rickie Fowler. In the current tournament set-up, players split the first 36 holes between the North and South Courses, then play the final 36 holes on the South Course.

The tournament officially begins with Opening Day on Thursday, Jan 28. Gates open at 7am and the Opening Ceremonies start at 8:15am. The opening round commences at 8:30am. Parking will be available at numerous points nearby, including the Del Mar Racetrack ($20), SeaWorld ($20), and the Scripps Lots A & B ($30 and $25, respectively). For more information, a complete list of entrants, and schedule, visit the Farmers Insurance Open website.

[image courtesy of]

The following two tabs change content below.
Your go-to resource for everything La Jolla - in print & online.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *